Remember Venn diagrams

Venn diagrams are the shapes we used to draw in primary school maths to show ownership or membership relationships…

Venn diagram
vɛn/
noun
 1. a diagram representing mathematical or logical sets pictorially as circles or closed curves within an enclosing rectangle (the universal set), common elements of the sets being represented by intersections of the circles.
a20subset20b1

Another sleepless night last night…in all fairness to ANZ’s cumbersome bullying, I popped a disc in my back a couple of weeks ago: while improving, it is not helping at the moment and I find that it disturbs my sleep less if I leave the ‘lectric blanket on…the flip side of that is that the extra heat keeps the rest of me awake…lots of time to think…

It occurred to me about 3AM that the definition of security in the Code of Banking Practice is consistent with the definition of security in the original guarantee. the root of my problem. That’s this definition which quite clearly includes a guarantee as a subset of security:

guarantee security

Similarly, under the Code’s definition, under the guarantee the bank still has security for the credit that it extended to my ex-partner’s company

security 3

I really don’t think that we need top split hairs over this one anymore. Even if we did, what would take precedence, noting that the Code is just that, a Code and not a law: what ANZ writes in its own documentation – we still assume that it is competent – or what is in the Code?

I would argue that ANZ’s wording indicates a higher standard than the Code requires – for which ANZ should be commended – and thus that higher standard, that it has set for itself, is the standard that we should expect ANZ to apply…would that be fair? Reasonable? Consistent?

Hmmm…those words again…

Leave a comment